Full SMC Track Meet Results: Murphy Boys Take 4th Straight SMC title, Others Break Records

Team FYN Sports

Photo courtesy of BT Douthit


The Smoky Mountain Conference Championship track meet took place today at Cherokee High School. There were some great performances from all over the conference, and a lot of individuals really showed out.

Some outstanding individual performances were:

Jake McTaggart (Hayesville)- SMC Champ in Shot Put and Discus, winning Discus by over 20+ feet with a throw of 143 feet

Kabe Ellis (Andrews)- SMC Champ in Long Jump and Triple Jump

Chandler Wood (Murphy)- SMC Champ in 100 Meter Dash with a time of 11.56

Chase Pierce (Murphy)- SMC Champ in 1600  and 3200 Meter Run

Sarah Pullium (Murphy)- SMC Champ in Shot Put and Discus, winning Discus by 32 feet and setting a new SMC Record with a throw of 140 feet

Zoie Shuler (Robbinsville)- SMC Champ in Long Jump and Triple Jump, as well as 100 Meter Dash as a Freshman

Emily Ulaner (Swain)- SMC Champ in 1600  Meter Run

Amaya Hicks (Swain)- SMC Champ in 800 Meter Run by nearly 10 seconds with a time of 2:32


The Murphy boys won their 4th straight SMC Track Championship, scoring 173 points. Hayesville scored 149, and Swain rounded out the top 3 with 131. The final team results for the boys are listed below.

Boys SMC Championship Final Standings

  1. Murphy- 173
  2. Hayesville- 149
  3. Swain- 131
  4. Robbinsville- 89.50
  5. Cherokee- 79
  6. Rosman- 26.50
  7. Andrews- 20
  8. Tri-County Early College- 10
  9. Hiwassee Dam- 3


The Swain County Girls team won big, outscoring second place Murphy 204 to 120. Robbinsville was right on Murphy’s heels with a score of 112.

Girls SMC Championship Final Standings

  1. Swain- 204
  2. Murphy- 120
  3. Robbinsville- 112
  4. Andrews- 58
  5. Hayesville- 50
  6. Rosman- 42
  7. Cherokee- 35
  8. Hiwassee Dam- 23
  9. Tri-County Early College- 4


Leave a comment

Back to Top